Crafton tops in truck qualifying at Martinsville

10/29/2011 10:30:55 AM

Crafton turned a lap at 96.352 mph for his second pole of the season and the sixth of his truck career. Jack Sprague previously held the track record at 96.327 mph, set in 2008.

Ron Hornaday Jr.'s lap at 96.224 mph earned him the outside pole. Hornaday is the defending race winner.

Denny Hamlin, driving Kyle Busch Motorsports' No.18 truck, qualified third, while Johnny Sauter and James Buescher rounded out the top-five.

Kevin Harvick, Todd Bodine, Justin Lofton, Timothy Peters and Austin Dillon, the current points leader, qualified sixth through 10th, respectively.

With three races to go, Dillon holds just a three-point advantage over Buescher. Sauter trails Dillon by 14 points, while Hornaday is 16 markers out of the lead.

Jennifer Jo Cobb and Charlie Vest failed to qualify.

The 200-lap race at Martinsville is scheduled to start just after 2:00 p.m. (et).